Get Involved
Advising Founders & Sponsors Advisory Board Student Startups Awards & Scholarships Staff

Awards & Scholarships

Scholarships - Now Accepting Applications!

Scholarship Eligibility

The Zell Lurie Institute scholarship program, established in 2003, is a merit-based scholarship program for returning MBA (or evening MBA students with at least 30 completed credits) and for incoming BBA junior and senior students. Eligible students will have achieved a meritorious GPA and will have demonstrated exemplary academic standing, strong entrepreneurial knowledge and interests, and engagement with courses, programs, and leadership at the University of Michigan.

Through the generous support of our donors, including Bob Diener for the BBAs, the scholarships are worth a maximum of $5,000 toward tuition. Students who receive a scholarship will be expected to help the Institute advance entrepreneurship at Ross and U-M, by serving as program volunteers. Scholars will also be expected to attend the fall Entrepalooza symposium on Sept. 25 and the Institute Adivsory Board meeting lunch on Oct. 6.


The application process begins each July for the coming academic year. A complete application includes an essay and your resume. Please submit the application package to by 8:00 a.m. on Monday, August 3. Scholarship recipients will be announced by Monday, August 17.

Please write an essay, not to exceed two pages in length (double-spaced, 1 inch margins) that addresses the questions below. Please also include a list of entrepreneurial activities you've been involved with at UM and in the past, and your UM ID number.

Think of a situation when you were confronted with a problem that did not have an immediate or obvious solution. This could be an experience in school, work or other community settings. What did you do? What happened as a result of your action(s)? How has this experience shaped your thinking about entrepreneurship and your goals for the future?

Scholarship Disbursement

Up to 13 MBAs and up to 4 BBAs, may each receive a total of $5,000 toward their tuition. Awards are $2,500 for each Fall and Winter terms. If your uncovered tuition is less than $2,500 per term, you are still eligible to apply, but your monetary award will be reduced to the uncovered amount in each term. If your tuition is fully covered by another scholarship or sponsorship source, you are not eligible to receive funding, though you may be eligible to be designated as a ZLI Scholar. If you have questions about your specific loans or scholarships and how they will be affected by this scholarship, please contact Financial Aid at (734) 764-5139.

2014 Scholarship Recipients

Zell Scholars
Yee Chen (MBA ’15), Prakhar Goel (MBA ’15), Wee Min Goh (MBA ’15), William Kletter (MBA/MS ’16), Alexandra Pulst-Korenberg (MBA/MD ’15), Brian Rassel (MBA/MS ’16), Harinee Sampath (MBA ’15), Erica Sivertson (MBA ’15), Susan Dancy Syriac (MBA ’15), Grant Van Horn (MBA ’15)

Mitchell A. Mondry Scholars
Nickhil Bhave (MBA ’15), Marianna Kerppola (MBA/MS ’16)


2014 Award Recipients

BBA, MBA and Cause-Based Entrepreneurial Awards

Each year these awards are made possible through the generosity of Ron (BBA '66) and Eileen Weiser (MM '75). Individuals are selected winter term based on achievements in entrepreneurship and academic excellence.

MBA Entrepreneur of the Year - $1000
Paul Robichaux, MBA '14

BBA Entrepreneur of the Year
- $350 each
Shayla Scales, BBA'14; Jacob Rosenfeld, BBA'14; Billy Kreinik, BBA'14

Cause-Based Entrepreneur of the Year - $1,000 Dan Rosen, MBA '14, Marianna Kerppola, MBA/MS '16

Valenti Awards for Exceptional Entrepreneurial Development - $2,500 each
Students are recognized for their development of entrepreneurial skills through continued engagement with the Institute and related entrepreneurial resources.
Muhammad Faisal, MBA'14; Jeff Plott, MBA'14

For more information, contact Sarika Gupta at 734-615-4422 or

Michigan Business School